Publish Profile Information to Other Members

A platform manager can determine which information from user profiles is visible by default to other members of your school community. Individual members of the community can overwrite some of these defaults to further limit which of their individual information is available to others.

  1. From Core, select Security, Profile access, and then Profile publish access.

  2. Select Edit.

  3. To allow users to remove themselves from your school's online directory, select All users to remove their name from the online directory.

    To block users from removing themselves from clear this option.

  4. Next, for each role in the drop-down menu, you'll select the role and then choose the default publishing access for that role.

    Tip: For example, select Student and then select the roles which correspond to who will probably want/need to see a typical student's profile information. You'll probably select to allow the roles of Student, Parent, TeacherFaculty, Coach, Nurse, Advisor, and more to see the student's profile information by default. However, you may want to omit roles such as Trustee or Cafeteria Staff from seeing this information. If a user only has roles which you did not select, the user will be unable to view or access any of the student's profile.

    Then select Save.

    Next, for each link in the Manage profile fields column, select the link that indicates how this role communicate to another role. Then select Edit and determine which fields should be published. Select Save & confirm, review how your changes affect settings for existing users, and then select Confirm and OK.

    Tip: For example, select Student to student and then Edit. Make sure fields such as Locker combo, Mailbox combo, SSN, and other forms of private information are not selected. Carefully consider which information students should be able to easily share with others and select them (such as Nickname and User photo. Then select Save & confirm and Confirm. Next, select Student to teacherfaculty and determine which fields teachersfaculty should see from students.

    Repeat this for all Roles with members and each combination of Role to role publications. You'll even do this roles your school has created from scratch or cloned based on pre-existing roles.

    When you change whether a field can be published to another role or accessed by another role, you'll also determine whether to apply your changes to all users or only users who previously used the default publication settings.

    • If you select to Reset publish fields for all users, you may override individual settings users made for themselves. You might hide information they previously shared or expose information they previously hid.

    • If you Reset publish fields for default users, fewer individual choices will be overwritten, but users with default settings should still review what they have shared or hidden.

    Regardless of which option reset you select, remember to communicate any important changes about your school's privacy policies to your community.

Note: When you determine the publish setting for the deceased relationship, your selection only affects the deceased user's Contact card. Visibility for deceased relationships in the online directory is controlled separately for each instance of someone's loss

More Information: